Castle-Pollard
The parish church was built in 1820, on a new site adjoining the Kinturk demesne; the tower and part of the old church remain, and the churchyard, in which stands the school-house, is still used as a burial-ground. There are also a R.C. chapel, a dispensary and fever hospital, and a parochial school in the town. A savings' bank has been established, in which the deposits amount to more than £20,000. Immediately adjoining is Kinturk, the seat of W. D. Pollard, Esq., a handsome residence situated in a fine demesne embellished with extensive plantations; within the grounds is a lofty hill, in a grave on the summit of which was found the skeleton of a man, and near it a very large iron spur. Pakenham Hall, the seat of the Earl of Longford, to the west of Kinturk, is a handsome castellated mansion in a demesne embellished with timber of stately growth, and tastefully laid out: the gardens are remarkably fine, and kept in excellent order. Near the town are also Turbotstown, the residence of Gerald Dease, Esq.; Galstown, of Hubert de Bourgh, Esq.; Lough Park, of N. Evans, Esq., beautifully situated on the shore of Lough Lane; Benison Lodge, of the Rev. T. Smyth; Coolure, of the Hon. Sir T. Pakenham, G.C.B., on the shore of Lough Derveragh; and Lake View, of W. Smyth, Esq. The old castle of Kinturk, from which the town took its name, was situated in the centre of it, but there are no remains.
Transcribed from A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, 1840 by Samuel Lewis
