UK Genealogy Archives logo

Newburn (St. Michael)

NEWBURN (St. Michael), a parish, in the union, and chiefly in the W. division, of Castle ward, but partly in the E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland; containing 4156 inhabitants, of whom 943 are in the township of Newburn, 5¼ miles (W. by N.) from Newcastle-upon-Tyne. At this place, which in the reign of John was styled a borough, Lord Conway, at the head of the royalists, in 1640, disputed the passage of the Tyne with the Scots under General Leslie; but the latter, after a violent conflict, at length succeeded. The parish consists of the townships of Butterlaw, Black Callerton, Dalton, East and West Denton, North and South Dissington, Newbiggin, Newburn, Newburn-Hall, Sugley, Throckley, Wallbottle, East and West Whorlton, and part of High Callerton. It abounds with coal, and stretches along the northern bank of the river, where are some coal-staiths, ironfoundries, crown-glass works, and brick and tile manufactories, chymical-works, and a paper-mill. The village occupies a picturesque situation on the Tyne, and consists of irregularly-built houses, with pleasant gardens attached. The living is a discharged vicarage, valued in the king's books at £16; net income, £230; patron and appropriator, the Bishop of Carlisle. The church, partly rebuilt and considerably enlarged in 1827, at an expense of about £1200, is a neat cruciform structure of stone, containing some ancient monuments to the Delavals; the east window exhibits in stained glass the figure of St. James, and the arms of those families who contributed to the renovation of the building. A national school was erected in 1822, by the Duke of Northumberland, who endowed it with £10. 10. per annum; and there are two chapels, respectively dedicated to the Holy Trinity and St. Saviour. Severus' Wall passed through the parish, but its course is not traceable.

Transcribed from A Topographical Dictionary of England, by Samuel Lewis, seventh edition, published 1858.