Baldernock, Stirlingshire

Historical Description

BALDERNOCK, a parish, in the county of Stirling, 7 miles (N.) from Glasgow; containing, with the villages of Balmore, Barraston, and Fluchter, about 800 inhabitants. The name is corrupted, as is supposed, from the Celtic term Baldruinick, signifying "Druid's town"; an opinion which receives strong support from the numerous remains found here, pertaining to the ancient order of Druids. This parish, of which the eastern half was in that of Campsie till 1649, is situated at the southern extremity of the county, where it is bounded by the river Kelvin, which flows towards the west; and by the Allander, a tributary of the Kelvin. It comprehends 3800 acres, of which 3100 are under cultivation or in pasture, 240 in wood, and the remainder occupied by roads and water. About equal parts are appropriated for grain, green crops, &c.; and for pasture. The surface is greatly diversified, consisting of three distinct portions succeeding each other on a gradual rise from south to north; each varying exceedingly from the others in soil, produce, and scenery; and the whole circumscribed by an outline somewhat irregular, but approaching in form to a square, the sides severally measuring about two miles. The northern tract, situated at an elevation of 300 feet above the sea, and embracing fine views in all directions, contains a few isolated spots under tillage, surrounded by moss land, with a light sharp soil incumbent on whinstone. Below this, the surface of the second tract assumes an entirely different appearance, being marked by many beautifully picturesque knolls, and having a clayey soil resting on a tilly retentive subsoil. To this portion succeeds the lowest land in the parish, and by far the richest, comprising 700 or 800 acres along the bank of the river Kelvin, formed of a soil of dark loam, supposed to have been washed down gradually from the higher grounds: this division is called the Balmore haughs.

Transcribed from A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 1851 by Samuel Lewis