Martha, St., On-The-Hill, or Martyr-Hill
MARTHA, ST., ON-THE-HILL, or Martyr-Hill, a parish, in the union of Hambledon, First division of the hundred of Blackheath, W. division of Surrey, 2¾ miles (S. E.) from Guildford; containing 193 inhabitants. This parish is called Martyr-Hill from a tradition that in the early ages some Christians were burnt by the Pagan Britons on the site where the church now stands. It contains 1070 acres, and in point of picturesque beauty is almost unrivalled. The living is a donative; net income, £25; patron and impropriator, W. Tinkler, Esq. The church occupies a bleak situation on a high hill about a mile from Chilworth, the small village of the parish: it was formerly an extensive cruciform structure, in the early English style; but the nave is now in ruins. The ecclesiastical property, prior to the Dissolution in 1538, belonged to the abbey of Newark in Send, near Guildford; and at Tyling are the remains of a religious house.