Langdon, West (St. Mary)
LANGDON, WEST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Dovor, hundred of Bewsborough, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 3½ miles (N.) from Dovor; containing 119 inhabitants. It comprises 698 acres, of which about 50 are pasture, and the remainder arable. The living is a perpetual curacy, endowed with a portion of the rectorial tithes, which have been commuted for £32. 9. 6.; patron, the Archbishop of Canterbury; impropriator of the remainder of the rectorial tithes, the Owner of Langdon Abbey: the glebe comprises 4 acres. The church is in ruins. An abbey for White canons, dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary and St. Thomas the Martyr, was founded here in 1192, by William de Auberville, and at the Dissolution had a revenue estimated at £56. 6.; it is stated to have been the first religious house dissolved by Henry VIII. There are some remains, forming a picturesque ruin.