Hatton (Holy Trinity)
HATTON (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Warwick, Snitterfield division of the hundred of Barlichway, S. division of the county of Warwick, 3¼ miles (N. W. by W.) from Warwick; containing, with the chapelry of Beausall and hamlet of Shrewley, 954 inhabitants, of whom 340 are in the township of Hatton. This parish comprises 4051a. 2r. 31p., whereof 1259½ acres are in the township of Hatton; of the latter portion, 851 acres are arable, 304 meadow and pasture, 71 woodland, and 34 in homesteads and gardens. The surface is undulated; the soil a gravelly loam, with some portion of strong clay; and the scenery very picturesque. The parish is intersected by the Warwick and Birmingham canal, and by the road between those two towns. The living is a perpetual curacy, in the patronage of the owner of Pinley Farm for the time being; net income, £265, with a good glebe-house. The church has a tower, and though much altered by repairs, retains some of its ancient features. It was internally richly embellished under the superintendence of the learned Dr. Samuel Parr, who was incumbent from 1783 till his death in 1825. The chancel windows and four others are of stained glass, representing the Crucifixion, the Ascension, St. Peter and St. Paul, Latimer, and Cranmer. In 1722, William Edwards bequeathed a rent-charge of £20 for a school, and other property for the poor.