Haseley (St. Mary)
HASELEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Warwick, Snitterfield division of the hundred of Barlichway, S. division of the county of Warwick, 3½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Warwick; containing 188 inhabitants. In the time of the Conqueror this place had a church; also a mill; and the woods belonging to it extended a mile in length, and two furlongs in breadth. Queen Mary granted the manor to Michael Throckmorton, by a descendant of whom it was conveyed in marriage to the Bromley family, of Bagington. The parish is situated on the road from Birmingham to Warwick, and intersected by a small brook that falls into the river Avon. It comprises 1144 acres, mostly arable land, with about 40 acres of excellent wood; the surface is slightly undulated, the soil good for barley and turnips, and the scenery picturesque. The ancient manor-house is now the property of John Salisbury Richards, Esq., by purchase in 1843, of Sir Edmund Antrobus, Bart. The living is a rectory, valued in the king's books at £4. 9. 4½.; patron, Sir Edmund: the tithes have been commuted for £219, and the glebe consists of 68 acres, with a glebe-house. The church is an ancient edifice with a tower, and has some painted glass and a curious font; also a brass monument of the date 1573, to Clement Throckmorton. A school is chiefly supported by subscription.