Barrow (St. Wilfrid)
BARROW (St. Wilfrid), a parish, in the union of Shardlow, partly in the hundred of Appletree, and partly in that of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 5¾ miles (S.) from Derby; containing 641 inhabitants. The manor, at the time of the Domesday survey, was held by Godwin under Henry de Ferrars. An estate here, which had been parcel of the manor of Melbourne, was annexed to the see of Carlisle before 1273, and was held on lease, under the bishops, by the family of Coke. This estate was enfranchised by act of parliament in 1704, and became the property of Daniel Dalrymple, Esq., by purchase from Lord Melbourne, about the year 1800. The parish includes the chapelry of Twyford with Stenson, and the liberty of Sinfin with Arleston; and comprises about 1140 acres, whereof two-thirds are arable, and the rest pasture, with small plantations: the soil is chiefly a light loam, and the scenery picturesque. The river Trent bounds the parish on the south, and the Trent and Mersey canal passes through. The living is a discharged vicarage, valued in the king's books at £5. 6. 5½.; net income, £105; patron, the Rev. John Latham. The tithes have been commuted for £245; and the glebe consists of about 40 acres. In addition to the parochial church, there is a chapel of ease at Twyford. The Wesleyans and Independents have places of worship; and a school is endowed with £8 per annum, the gift of Elizabeth Sale in 1702. A preceptory of Knights Templars formerly existed here.