Province of Leinster

This is the most eastern province of Ireland: it is bounded on the north by Ulster, on the east by the Irish Sea, on the south-east by Saint George's Channel, on the south by the Atlantic Ocean, on the south-west by Munster, on the west by Munster and Connaught, and on the north-west by the last-named province. Its greatest length, from the most northerly point of the county of Louth to Hook Point, in Wexford county, is one hundred and forty-two English miles; its greatest breadth, from Wicklow Head to the confluence of the river Brosna with the Shannon, is eighty-five miles; and its area comprises 4,876,200 acres, of which there are arable about 3,961,200 acres; plantations, 115,900; sites of towns, 15,570; water, 51,600, and the remainder, about 732,000, of irreclaimable or uncultivated land. The province comprises the counties of Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, Kilkenny, King's county, Longford, Louth, Meath, Queen's county, Westmeath, Wexford, and Wicklow. These are divided into one hundred and twenty-three baronies, and sub-divided into one thousand and eight parishes.

Transcribed from Slater's National Commercial Directory of Ireland, 1846