Province of Connaught

This is the smallest, least populous, and most western province in Ireland. It is bounded on the north and west by the Atlantic; its north eastern limits are marked by a line from Donegal Bay by Louth Melvin to Lough Swilly; from the middle of this lake on the west to the west of Ballyntagauran, and midway between Killeshandra and Carrigallen to Bruce-hill, and thence to the river Crumlin. This line separates Connaught from Ulster. The course of the Crumlin and the Shannon, as far as to the middle of Lough Derg, marks its limits towards Leinster on the east; and an irregular line thence, through the Baughta mountains to Galway Bay, parts it on the south from Munster. Connaught comprises the five counties of Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon, and Sligo; these are divided into forty-seven baronies, and sub-divided into three hundred and nine parishes. The circumference of the province, following all its sinuosities (exclusive of islands) is fill five hundred miles or more; but measured in straight lines, from projection to projection, it is only about three hundred miles. The greatest length, nearly north and south, from Bundoran, on Donegal Bay, to the extremity of Galway county, on Lough Derg, is eighty-six miles, and the greatest breadth, due west from the Shannon, below Athlone, to Slyne Head, in Cunnemara, is about eighty miles. The area of Connaught comprises 2,220,200 acres of arable land, 1,906,000 of uncultivated land, 48,300 of plantations, 3,890 of towns and villages, and 212,800 of water; total 4,391,100, in round numbers.

Transcribed from Slater's National Commercial Directory of Ireland, 1846