Laleham, a village and a parish in Middlesex. The village stands on the Thames, at the boundary with Surrey, 2 miles SSE of Staines station on the L. & S.W.R., was anciently known as Leieham, and has a post, money order, and telegraph omce under Staines. There is a ferry here to Chertsey. The parish comprises 1301 acres; population, 504. The manor belonged at Domesday to the Earl of Mortaigne. Laleham House is the seat of the Earl of Lucan, and has extensive gardens and shrubberies. The neighbourhood is picturesque, and draws many visitors. Remains of a Roman camp are at Greenfield. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of London; net yearly value, -£197 with residence. Patron, the Earl of Lucan. The church is very ancient, contains some fine old Norman pillars and arches, and has a low and massive western tower of brick, erected in the time of George L Matthew Arnold, the poet, is buried in the churchyard. Donna Maria, the second queen of Portugal, resided here in her childhood.
The following is a list of the administrative units in which this place was either wholly or partly included.
|Ecclesiastical parish||Laleham All Saints|
|Poor Law union||Staines|
Any dates in this table should be used as a guide only.
For general information about Civil Registration (births, marriages and deaths) see the Civil Registration page.
Directories & Gazetteers
We have transcribed the entry for Laleham from the following:
- Samuel Lewis' A Topographical Dictionary of England, by Samuel Lewis, seventh edition, published 1858. (Laleham (All Saints))
Land and Property
A full transcript of the Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Middlesex is online.