Binstead, Isle of Wight
Binstead, a small village and a parish in the Isle of Wight. The village stands on the coast of the Solent, amid charming environs, 1 mile W by N of Ryde. The parish comprises 1206 acres of land and 236 of foreshore and water; population, 961. It has a post, money order, and telegraph office under Ryde. The manor belonged at the Conquest to William Fitz-Stur, and passed to the Bishops of Winchester. Several picturesque villas stand near the village and on the coast. Remains of a Cistercian abbey, called Quarr Abbey, founded in 1132 by Baldwin de Redvers, afterwards Earl of Devon, stand at a farmstead 5 furlongs west of the village, and, though fragmentary and mutilated, show some interesting features. A silicious limestone, containing many fossils, and well suited for building, has been extensively quarried since at least the time of William Rufus. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Winchester; gross value, £83. Patron, the Bishop of Winchester. The church is in the Early English style, and embodies some sculptured stones of a previous Norman edifice. It was enlarged in 1876. There is a Wesleyan chapel.
The following is a list of the administrative units in which this place was either wholly or partly included.
|Ecclesiastical parish||Binstead Holy Cross|
Any dates in this table should be used as a guide only.
For general information about Civil Registration (births, marriages and deaths) see the Civil Registration page.
Directories & Gazetteers
We have transcribed the entry for Binstead from the following:
- Samuel Lewis' A Topographical Dictionary of England, by Samuel Lewis, seventh edition, published 1858. (Binstead (Holy Cross))
Online maps of Binstead are available from a number of sites:
- Bing (Current Ordnance Survey maps).
- Google Streetview.
- National Library of Scotland. (Old maps)
- old-maps.co.uk (Old Ordnance Survey maps to buy).
- Streetmap.co.uk (Current Ordnance Survey maps).
- A Vision of Britain through Time. (Old maps)
The Visitations of Hampshire, 1530, 1575, & 1622-34 is available to view on the Heraldry page.