Shelley, a village and a parish in Essex, 1½ mile N of Ongar station on the G.E.R. Post town and money order and telegraph office, Ongar, under Brentwood. Acreage, 609; population, 186. Shelley Hall is an ancient and picturesque Tudor mansion, originally erected in the latter part of the 16th century, and thoroughly restored in 1869. The manor belongs to the Thomlinson family. The living is a rectory in the diocese of St. Albans; net value, £155 with residence. The church was rebuilt in 1888 and is a building of flint in. The Early English style. The rectory-house was the place where Bishop Newton wrote his Commentaries.
The following is a list of the administrative units in which this place was either wholly or partly included.
|Ecclesiastical parish||Shelley St. Peter|
|Poor Law union||Ongar|
Any dates in this table should be used as a guide only.
For general information about Civil Registration (births, marriages and deaths) see the Civil Registration page.
Directories & Gazetteers
We have transcribed the entry for Shelley from the following:
- Samuel Lewis' A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848 (Shelley (St. Peter))
Land and Property
The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Essex is available to browse.
The Essex pages from the Return of Owners of Land in 1873 is online.
Online maps of Shelley are available from a number of sites:
- Bing (Current Ordnance Survey maps).
- Google Streetview.
- National Library of Scotland. (Old maps)
- old-maps.co.uk (Old Ordnance Survey maps to buy).
- Streetmap.co.uk (Current Ordnance Survey maps).
- A Vision of Britain through Time. (Old maps)
Newspapers and Periodicals
The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following newspapers covering Essex online: