UK Genealogy Archives logo
DISCLOSURE: This page may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we may receive a commission.

Wards in County Durham

The following is a list of the Wards with places comprised in each as at 1914:-

Chester Ward, East Division

Barmston, Boldon, Fullwell, Gateshead, Great and Little Usworth, Harton, Hedworth, Heworth, Hylton, Jarrow, Monkton, Monkwearmouth, Monkwearmouth Panns, South Shields, Southwick, Washington, Westow, Whitburn.

Chester Ward, Middle Division

Birtley, Broom, Chester-le-Street, Edmondsley, Harraton, Hedley, Kibblesworth, Lamesley, Ouston, Pelton, Plawsworth, Ravensworth, Tanfield, Urpeth, Waldridge.

Chester Ward, West Division

Benfieldside, Billingside, Burnop and Hamsteels, Butsfield, Chopwell, Collierley, Conside-cum-Knitsley (or Consett), Craghead, Crawcrook, Ebchester, Edmondbyers, Esh, Fellside, Greencroft, Greencroft Within, Healeyfield, Holmside, Hunstanworth, Iveston, Kibblesworth, Kyo, Lanchester and Hamlets, Langley, Lowside, Medomsley, Muggleswick, Ryton, Ryton Woodside, Satley, Stella, Stanley, Swallwell, Whickham, Winlaton, Witton Gilbert.

Darlington Ward, N.W. Division

Auckland St. Andrew, Auckland St. Helen (Auckland West), Barony, Binchester, Bishop Auckland, Brancepeth, Brandon and Byshottles, Cornsay, Coundon, Crook and Bil y Row, East Thickley, Escomb, Hamsterley, Hedley Hope, Helmington Row, Hunwick and Helmington, Lynesack and Softley, Newfield, Newton Cap, North Bedburn, Pollards Lands, Shildon, South Bedburn, South Cornsay, Stanhope, Stockley, Tudhoe, Willington, Witton-le-Wear, Wolsingham.

Darlington Ward, S.E. Division

Archdeacon Newton, Barmpton, Blackwell, Brafferton, Byers Green, Chilton, Coatsaw Moor, Cockerton, Coundon Grange, Darlington, Denton, Eldon, Ferryhill, Great Aycliffe, Great Burdon, Harrowgate Hill, Haughton-le-Skerne, Heighington, Hett, High Coniscliffe, Houghton-le-Side, Killerby, Low Coniscliffe, Merrington, Middlestone, Middridge Grange, Morton Palms, Old Park, Preston-le-Skerne, Redworth, School Aycliffe, Sunderland Bridge, Walworth, Westerton, Whitworth, Windlestone, Woodham.

Darlington Ward, S.W. Division

Barnard Castle, Bolam, Cleatlam, Cockfield, Egglestone, Forest and Frith, Gainford, Headlam, Hilton, Ingleton, Langleydale and Shotton, Langton, Marwood, Middleton-in-Teesdale, Morton Tinmouth, Newbiggin, Piercebridge, Raby and Keverstone, Stainton and Streatlam, Summerhouse, Wackertield, Westwick, Whessoe, Whorlton, Winston, Woodland.

Easington Ward, N. Division

Bishopwearmouth, Bishopwearmouth Panns, Bourne Moor, Burdon, Cocken, Cold Hesledon, Dalton-le-Dale, Dawdon, East and Middle Herrington, East Morton, East Rainton, Ford, Great Eppleton, Great Lumley, Hetton-le-Hole, Houghton-le-Spring, Lambton, Little Eppleton, Little Lumley, Moorhouse, Moorsley, Morton Grange, Newbottle, Offerton, Penshaw, Ryhope, Seaham, Seaton and Slingley, Silksworth, South Biddick, Tunstall, Warden Law, West Herrington, West Rainton.

Easington Ward, S. Division

Cassop, Castle Eden, Coxhoe, Easington, Haswell, Hawthorn, Hutton Henry, Kelloe, Monk Hesledon, Nesbitt, Pittington, Quarrington, Shadforth, Sheraton with Hulam, Sherburn, Sherburn House, Shincliffe, Shotton, Thornley, Thorp Bulmer, Trimdon, Whitwell House, Wingate.

Stockton Ward, N.E. Division

Billingham, Bishop, Bradbury, Brierton, Butterwick, Claxton, Cornforth, Cowpen Bewley, Dalton Piercy, Elstob, Elwick, Elwick Hall, Embleton, Fishburn, Foxton and Shotton, Garmondsway Moor, Great Stainton, Greatham, Grindon, Hart, Hartlepool, Mainsforth, Middleham, Mordon, Newton Bewley, Seaton Carew, Sedgefield, Stranton, Thrislington, Throston, West Hartlepool, Whitton, Wolviston.

Stockton Ward, S.W. Division

Aislaby, Bishopton, Carlton, Coatham Mundeville, East and West Newbiggin, East Hartburn, Egglescliffe, Elton, Hurworth, Little Stainton, Long Newton, Lower Dinsdale, Middleton St. George, Neasham, Newsham, Norton, Preston-upon-Tees, Redmarshall, Sadberge, Sockburn, Stillington, Stockton-upon-Tees.

Sunderland Borough


City of Durham

Castle Precincts and Site of Old Gaol, Crossgate or St. Margarets, Durham College, Elvet, Framwellgate, Framwellgate Moor, St. Giles or Gilligate, Neville's Cross, St. Mary-le-bow or North Bailey, St. Mary the Less or South Bailey, St. Mary Magdalene or Magdalen Place; St. Nicholas, St. Oswalds.