UK Genealogy Archives logo

Hundreds and Wards in Cumberland

The following is a list of the Hundreds and Wards with places comprised in each as at 1914:-

East Ward

Appleby, Asby, Bongate, Brough, Brough Sowerby, Burrels, Colby, Crackenthorpe, Crosby Garrett, Drybeck, Dufton, Hartley, Hilbeck, Hilton, Hoff and Row, Kaber, Kirkby Stephen, Kirkby Thore, Long Marton, Mallerstang, Milbourne, Murton, Great Musgrave, Little Musgrave, Nateby, Newbiggin, Ormside, Orton, Ravenstonedale, Scattergate, Smardale, Soulby, Stainmore, Temple Sowerby, Waitby, Warcop, Wharton, Winton.

Kendal Ward

Ambleside, Applethwaite, Beetham, Crook, Crosthwaite and Lyth, Docker, Farleton, Fawcett Forest, Grasmere, Nether Graveship, Grayrigg, Haverbrack, Helsington, Heversham with Milnthorpe, Hincaster, Holme, Hugill, New Hutton, Old Hutton with Holmescales, Kendal or Kirkby Kendal, Kentmere, Kirkland, Lambrigg, Langdale, Levens, Meathop and Ulpha, Natland, Patton, Preston Patrick, Preston Richard, Rydal and Loughrigg, Scalthwaiterigg, Hay and Hutton-i'-th'-Hay, Sedgwick, Selside and Whitwell, Skelsmergh, Long Sleddale, Stainton, Nether Staveley, Over Staveley, Strickland Ketel, Strickland Roger, Troutbeck, Underbarrow and Bradley-Field, Undermilbeck, Whinfell, Witherswick.

Lonsdale Ward

Barbon, Burton-in-Kendal, Casterton, Dillicar, Firbank, Hutton Roof, Killington, Kirkby Lonsdale, Lupton, Mansergh, Middleton.

West Ward Hundred

Askham, Bampton, High Barton, Bolton, Brougham, Cliburn, Clifton, Crosby Ravensworth, Helton, Kings Meaburn, Lowther, Martindale, Morland, Newby, Patterdale with Hartsop, Shap, Sleagill, Sockbridge and Tirril, Great Strickland, Little Strickland, Thrimby, Low Winder, Yanwath and Eamont Bridge.