UK Genealogy Archives logo
DISCLOSURE: This page may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we may receive a commission.

Bristol Poor Law Union

Bristol was Incorporated by a Local Government Act, and was therefore exempt from many of the terms of the Poor Law Amendment Act, 1834. It already provided for the Poor under its Incorporated status.

The table below provides a list of the parishes and places contained within this Union. Where there is no To date it should be assumed that the parish or place was in this union until the Poor Law Unions were disolved in 1930.

Town or ParishFromToNotes
All Saints      
Castle Precincts      
Christ Church      
St Augustine the less      
St Ewin      
St James      
St John      
St Leonard      
St Mary le Port      
St Mary Redcliffe      
St Michael      
St Nicholas      
St Paul      
St Peter      
St Philip & St Jacob      
St Stephen      
St Thomas      
St Werburg