UK Genealogy Archives logo
DISCLOSURE: This page may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we may receive a commission.

Torrington Poor Law Union

The Torrington Poor Law Union was officially formed in 1835, under the terms of the Poor Law Amendment Act, 1834.

The table below provides a list of the parishes and places contained within this Union. Where there is no To date it should be assumed that the parish or place was in this union until the Poor Law Unions were disolved in 1930.

Town or ParishFromToNotes
Alverdiscott 1835    
Ashreigney 1835    
Beaford 1835    
Buckland Filleigh 1835    
Dalton 1835    
Dowland 1835    
Frithelstock 1835    
Great Torrington 1835    
High Bickington 1835    
Huish 1835    
Huntshaw 1835    
Langtree 1835    
Little Torrington 1835    
Merton 1835    
Peter Marland 1835    
Petrockstow 1835    
Roborough 1835    
Shebbear 1835    
Sheepwash 1835    
St Giles in the Wood 1835    
Wear Gifford 1835    
Winkleigh 1835    
Yarnscombe 1835