UK Genealogy Archives logo

Exeter Poor Law Union

Exeter was Incorporated by a Local Government Act, and was therefore exempt from many of the terms of the Poor Law Amendment Act, 1834. It already provided for the Poor under its Incorporated status. This continued until 1877 when the Incorporation was disolved, and Exeter became a Poor Law Union.

The table below provides a list of the parishes and places contained within this Union. Where there is no To date it should be assumed that the parish or place was in this union until the Poor Law Unions were disolved in 1930.

Town or ParishFromToNotes
Allhallows Goldsmith street      
Allhallows on the Walls      
Bedford Precinct      
Holy Trinity      
Precinct Close      
St David      
St Edmund      
St George the Martyr      
St John      
St Kerrian      
St Lawrence      
St Leonard 1877    
St Martin      
St Mary Arches      
St Mary Major      
St Mary Steps      
St Olave      
St Pancras      
St Paul      
St Petrock      
St Sidwell      
St Stephen