UK Genealogy Archives logo
DISCLOSURE: This page may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we may receive a commission.

Wigton Poor Law Union

The Wigton Poor Law Union was officially formed in 1836, under the terms of the Poor Law Amendment Act, 1834.

The table below provides a list of the parishes and places contained within this Union. Where there is no To date it should be assumed that the parish or place was in this union until the Poor Law Unions were disolved in 1930.

Town or ParishFromToNotes
Abbey Quarter 1836    
Aikton 1836    
Allhallows 1836    
Allonby and West Newton 1836    
Aspatria 1836    
Baldwinholme 1836    
Blencogo 1836    
Blennerhasset with Kirkland 1836    
Bowness 1836    
Broomfield 1836    
Caldbeck 1836    
Dundraw 1836    
Hayton and Melo 1836    
High Bolton 1836    
Holme Cultram 1836    
Holme Low 1836    
Kirkbride 1836    
Lanrigg and Meabrigg 1836    
Low and High Ireby 1836    
Low Bolton 1836    
Oulton Quarter 1836    
Sebergham 1836    
Thursby 1836    
Torpenhaw and Whitrigg 1836    
Uldale 1836    
Waverton 1836    
West Ward 1836    
Wigton 1836    
Woodside Quarter 1836