UK Genealogy Archives logo
DISCLOSURE: This page may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we may receive a commission.

Carlisle Poor Law Union

The Carlisle Poor Law Union was officially formed in 1838, under the terms of the Poor Law Amendment Act, 1834.

The table below provides a list of the parishes and places contained within this Union. Where there is no To date it should be assumed that the parish or place was in this union until the Poor Law Unions were disolved in 1930.

Town or ParishFromToNotes
Beaumont 1838    
Belle Vue 1894    
Botchergate 1894 1904  
Burgh by Sands 1838    
Carlisle—St Marys Caldewgate 1838    
Carlisle—St Marys Cummersdale 1838    
Carlisle—St Marys Rickersgate 1838    
Crosby on Eden 1838    
Dalston 1838    
Eaglesfield Abbey 1862 1904  
Grinsdale 1838    
Kingmoor 1838    
Kirkandrews on Eden 1838    
Orton 1838    
Rockcliffe 1838    
St Cuthberts within Carlisle 1838    
St Cuthberts without Carlisle 1838    
Stanwix 1838    
Warwick and Aglionby 1838    
Weatherall 1838    
Wreay 1838