UK Genealogy Archives logo
DISCLOSURE: This page may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we may receive a commission.

South Shields Poor Law Union

The South Shields Poor Law Union was officially formed in 1836, under the terms of the Poor Law Amendment Act, 1834.

The table below provides a list of the parishes and places contained within this Union. Where there is no To date it should be assumed that the parish or place was in this union until the Poor Law Unions were disolved in 1930.

Town or ParishFromToNotes
Boldon 1836    
Boldon Colliery 1895    
Harton 1836    
Hebburn 1894    
Jarrow 1836    
Monkton 1836    
South Shields 1836    
Westoe 1836    
Whitburn 1836