UK Genealogy Archives logo
DISCLOSURE: This page may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we may receive a commission.

Lanchester Poor Law Union

The Lanchester Poor Law Union was officially formed in 1837, under the terms of the Poor Law Amendment Act, 1834.

The table below provides a list of the parishes and places contained within this Union. Where there is no To date it should be assumed that the parish or place was in this union until the Poor Law Unions were disolved in 1930.

Town or ParishFromToNotes
Benfieldside 1837    
Billingside 1837    
Collierly 1837    
Conside and Knitsley 1837    
Cornsay 1837    
Craghead 1896    
Ebchester 1837    
Esk 1837    
Greencroft 1837    
Healeyfield 1837    
Hedley Hope 1837    
Iveston 1837    
Knitsley 1894    
Kyo 1837    
Lanchester 1837    
Langley 1837    
Medomsley 1837    
Muggleswick 1837    
Oxhill 1894 1916  
Satley 1837    
South Moor 1894    
Stanley 1894    
Tanfield 1837