UK Genealogy Archives logo
DISCLOSURE: This page may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we may receive a commission.

Wimborne and Cranborne Poor Law Union

The Wimborne and Cranborne Poor Law Union was officially formed in 1836, under the terms of the Poor Law Amendment Act, 1834. It was formed by a merger of the former Unions of Cranborne and Wimborne.

The table below provides a list of the parishes and places contained within this Union. Where there is no To date it should be assumed that the parish or place was in this union until the Poor Law Unions were disolved in 1930.

Town or ParishFromToNotes
Alderholt 1894    
Almer 1894    
Chalbury 1836    
Chettle 1836 1894  
Colehill 1896    
Corfe Mullen 1836    
Cranborne 1836    
East Woodyates 1858    
Edmondsham 1836    
Farnham 1836 1894  
Gussage All Saints 1836    
Gussage St. Michael 1836    
Hampreston 1836    
Hinton Martell 1836    
Hinton Parva 1836    
Holt 1894    
Horton 1836    
Long Critchel 1836    
Moor Critchel 1836    
Pamphill 1894    
Pentridge 1836    
Shapwick 1836    
Sixpenny Handley 1836    
Sturminster Marshall 1836    
Verwood 1894    
West Parley 1836    
Wimborne Minster 1836    
Wimborne St. Giles 1836    
Witchampton 1836    
Woodlands 1836