SEAFORDE, a village, in the parish of LOUGHIN-ISLAND, barony of KINELEARTY, county of DOWN, and province of ULSTER, 1 mile (N.) from Clough, on the roads leading respectively from Downpatrick to Newry, and from Dundrum to Ballynahinch: the population is returned with the parish. This village, which was anciently called Neaghen, is small but very handsomely built, consisting of one principal street, from the centre of which a smaller street branches off at right angles. At its northern extremity is a very handsome gateway of freestone, consisting of a centre and two side openings; and near it is a chaste Grecian lodge of freestone, forming an entrance into the extensive demesne of Seaforde, the handsome seat of Col. M. Forde; the mansion, which is situated in the centre of the parish, was destroyed by fire in 1816, and rebuilt in 1819 in a style of sumptuous elegance; the demesne, which is finely undulated, comprises 1060 acres, richly planted and embellished with a large and picturesque lake. The manor of Seaforde extends over the whole of the parish, with the exception only of the townland of Clough; and a court is held every three weeks before the seneschal, in which debts to the amount of £2 are recoverable: petty sessions are also held on alternate Tuesdays, and fairs on March 7th, June 9th., Sept 4th, and Dec. 6th. The parish church, a handsome edifice, is situated in the village; and there is a place of worship for Presbyterians in connection with the Seceding Synod, of the second class. There are also six handsome almshouses, erected in 1828 by Col. Forde, who endowed them with £60 per ann. for six aged widows; and some schools, the particulars of which are stated in the article on Loughin-Island, which see.
Directories & Gazetteers
We have transcribed the entry for Seaforde from the following:
Land and Property
The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Down is available to browse.