UK Genealogy Archives logo

Rathregan, Meath

Historical Description

RATHREGAN, a parish, in the barony of RATOATH, county of MEATH, and province of LEINSTER, 2 miles (S. by W.) from Dunshaughlin, on the road from Dublin to Trim; containing 325 inhabitants. This parish comprises 2481 statute acres of tolerably good land, mostly pasture. Here is a constabulary police station. Parsonstown is the residence of the Hon. Major Stanhope. It is a rectory and vicarage, in the diocese of Meath, forming part of the union of Dunshaughlin; the tithes amount to £120, and the glebe, consisting of 23 acres, is valued at £40 per annum. The glebe-house of the union is within the parish; it was built in 1822 by aid of a loan of £562 from the late Board of First Fruits. In the R. C. divisions it is the head of a union or district, called Batterstown, comprising the parishes of Rathregan, Bailymaglasson, Balfeaghan, Raddonstown, Kilcloon, and Moyglare; and containing three chapels. There is a school in the vicinity of the chapel of Rathregan.

Transcribed from A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, 1840 by Samuel Lewis

Civil Registration

For general information about Civil Registration (births, marriages and deaths) see the Civil Registration page.

Land and Property

The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Meath is available to browse.