UK Genealogy Archives logo

Howdenshire, East Riding of Yorkshire

Historical Description

Howdenshire, a parliamentary division of the E.R. Yorkshire, was formed under the 'Redistribution of Seats Act of 1885, and returns one member to the House of Commons. Population, 49, 327. The division includes the following:- Holrne Beacon-Aughton, Cliff (North), Cliff (South), Cot-tingwith (East), Ellerton, Everingham, Foggathorpe, Good-manham, Harlthorpe, Harswell, Holme-upon-Spalding Moor, Laytham, Londesbrough, Market Weighton and Arras, Sanc-ton-with-Honghton, Seaton Ross, Shipton, Thorpe-le-Street; Howdenshire-Asselby, Balkhoime, Barmby Marsh, Belby, Bellasize, Blacktoft, Brackenholme-cum-Woodhall, Breighton and Gnnby, Bubwith, Cavill and Portington, Cheapsides, Cotness, Eastrington, Gilberdike, Gribthorpe, Hemingbrough, Howden, Kilpin, Knedlington, Laxton, Metham, Newport, Saltmarshe, Scalby, Skelton, Spaldington, Thorpe, Willitoft, Wressell, Yokefleet; Hunsley Beacon (South)-Aniaby, Bran-tingham, Broomfleet, Cave (North) with Everthorpe and Drewton, Cave (South), Cottingham, EUerker, Elloughton and Brough, Faxfleet, Ferriby (North), Haltemprice, Hessle, Hotham, Kirk Ella, Melton, Newbald (South), New Village, Bowley, Skidby, Swanland, Wauldby, Welton, West Ella, Willerby; Ouse and Derwent (except the part within the municipal borough of York by virtue of the York Extension and Improvement Act, 1884)-Barlby, Cliff-cum-Lund, Deighton, Duffield (North), Duffield (South), Dunnington, Elvington, Escrick, Fulford (Gate), Fulford (Water), Grimston, Heslington (St Lawrence), Heslington (St Paul), Kel-field, Kexby, Langwith, Menthorpe-cum-Bowthorpe, Nabum, Osgodby, Biccall, Skipwith, Stanford Bridge (West)-with-Scoreby, Stillingfleet-with-Moreby, Thorganby-with-Cotting-with, Wheldrake; Wilton Beacon-Allerthorpe, Barmby Moor, Bielby, Bishop Wilton and Belthorpe, Bolton, Bug-thorpe, Burnby, Catton (High), Oatton (Low), Fangfoss, Full Sutton, Great Givendale, Hayton, Huggate, Kilnwick Percy, Kirby Underdale, Melbourne, Millington, Newton-on-Derwent, Nnnburnhoime, Owsthorpe, Pocklington, Skirpen-beck, Stamford Bridge (East), Storwood, Sntton-on-Derwent, Thixendale, Thornton, Waplington, Warter, Wilberfoss, Yap-ham and Meltonby, Youlthorpe.

Transcribed from The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1894-5

Land and Property

The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for the East Riding of Yorkshire is available to browse.

Newspapers and Periodicals

The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following East Riding newspapers online: