UK Genealogy Archives logo

Buckrose, East Riding of Yorkshire

Historical Description

Buckrose, a wapentake and a parliamentary and petty sessional division in the E.R. Yorkshire. It is bounded on the N and the W, above and below New Molton, by the river Derwent; area of the petty sessional division, 92,563 acres; population, 13,036.

Buckrose Parliamentary Division of E.R. Yorkshire was formed under the Redistribution of Seats Act of 1885, and returns one member to the House of Commons. Population, 50,877. The division includes the following:- Bainton Beacon-Bainton, Beeford, Bracken, Brigham, Cottam, Cowlam, Dalton (North), Driffield (Great), Driffield (Little), Eastburn, Emswell, Foston, Frodingham (North), Garton, Gembling, Harpham, Hutton, Cranswick, Kelk (Great), Kilham, Kilnwick, Kirkburn and Battleburn, Langtoft, Lowthorpe, Lund, Middleton, Nafferton, Neswick, Rotsea, Ruston (Parva), Skerne, Sledmere and Croom, Southburn, Sunderlandwick, Tibthorpe, Wansford, Watton, Wetwang; Buckrose -Acklam-with-Barthorpe, Birdsall, Burythorpe, Duggleby, Eddlethorpe, Firby, Fimber, Fridaythorpe, Ganton, Grimston (North), Helperthorpe, Heslerton (East), Heslerton (West), Howsham, Kennythorpe, Kirby Grindalythe, Kirkham, Knapton, Langton, Leavening, Leppington, Luttons Ambo, Mennythorpe, Norton, Raisthorpe and Burdale, Rillington, Scagglethorpe, Scampston, Scrayingham, Settrmgton, Sherburn, Thirkleby, Thorpe Bassett, Towthorpe, Weaverthorpe, Westow, Wharram-le-Street, Wharram Percy, Willerby, Wintringham, Yedingham; Dickering-Argam, Auburn, Barmston, Bempton and Newsholme, Bessingby, Boynton, Bridlington, Buckton, Burton Agnes, Butterwick, Carnaby, Easton, Filey, Flamborough, Folkton, Fordon, Foxholes, Fraisthorpe, Gransmoor, Grindall, Haisthorpe, Hilderthorpe, Hunmanby, Kelk (Little), Lissett, Mnston, North Burton, Reighton, Rudston, Sewerby and Marton, Speeton, Thornholme, Thwing, Ulrome, Wilsthorpe, Wold Newton.

Transcribed from The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1894-5

Land and Property

The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for the East Riding of Yorkshire is available to browse.

Newspapers and Periodicals

The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following East Riding newspapers online: