UK Genealogy Archives logo

Frankton or Welsh Frankton, Shropshire

Historical Description

Frankton or Welsh Frankton, a township and an ecclesiastical parish in EIlesmere and Whittington parishes, Salop. The township is 2½ milea SW of EIlesmere, and hasa station on the Cambrian railway, and a post office (Welsh Frankton) under Oswestry; money order office, Whittington; telegraph office at the railway station. The ecclesiastical parish includes also the townships of Old Marton, New Marton, and Ridge. It was constituted in 1865. Population, 490. The living is a rectory in the diocese of St Asaph; net value, £131 with residence. Patron, the Rector of Whittington and Earl Brownlow alternately. The church, dedicated to St Andrew, was built in 1858. There are Congregational and Methodist chapels. Frankton Hill commands an extensive view.

Transcribed from The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1894-5

Church Records

The parish register dates from the year 1865.


Churches

Church of England

St. Andrew (parish church)

The church of St. Andrew, standing on the road from Oswestry to Ellesmere, and consecrated in 1858, is a picturesque building of Cefn stone, in the Decorated style, consisting of chancel, nave, vestry, a tower on the south side with octagonal spire and containing one bell: the lower stage of the tower forms a porch: the east window and two in the nave are stained and there are 150 sittings.

St. Andrew, Welsh Frankton
St. Andrew, Welsh Frankton

Congregational

Congregational Chapel

There is a Congregational chapel with 100 sittings.

Methodist

Methodist Chapel

The Methodist chapel at Lower Frankton, was built in 1890, with 90 sittings.

United Methodist Chapel

The United Methodist chapel was erected in 1891.


Land and Property

The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Shropshire (Salop) is available to browse.


Newspapers and Periodicals

The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following Shropshire newspapers online:


Visitations Heraldic

The Visitation of Shropshire, 1623 is available on the Heraldry page.