UK Genealogy Archives logo

Rushcliffe, Nottinghamshire

Historical Description

Rushcliffe is a parliamentary division of Nottinghamshire, was formed under the Redistribution of Seats Act of 1885, and returns one member to the House of Commons. Population, 64,603. The division includes the following:-Nottingham (part of)-Arnold, Barton, Beeston, Lilborough, Bradmore, Bramcote, Bridgford (West), Bunny, Burton Joyce, Carlton, Chilwell, Clifton, Colwick, Cossall, Costock, Edwalton, Gedling, Gotham, Hucknall Torkard, Keyworth, Kingstone, Lambley, Leake (East), Leake (West), Lenton, Lynby, Newstead, Normanton-on-Soar, Normanton-on-the Wolds, Nuthall, Papplewick, Plumtree, Ratcliffe-upon-Soar, Rempstone, Enddington, Stanford, Stanton-on-the Wolds, Stapleford, Stoke Bardolph, Strelley, Sutton Bonington, Thorpe, Thrumpton, Toton, Trowell, Widmerpool, Wilford, Willoughby, Wollaton, Woodborongh, Wysall.

Transcribed from The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1894-5

Land and Property

The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Nottinghamshire is available to browse.

Newspapers and Periodicals

The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following Nottinghamshire newspapers online: