Llangynog, a village and a parish in Montgomeryshire. The village stands at the confluence of the rivers Tanat and Eirth, on a picturesque site under lofty hills, 8 miles NW of Llanfyllin. It has a post and money order office under Oswestry; telegraph office, Llanfylliu. The parish comprises 13,091 acres; population of the civil parihh, 629; of the ecclesiastical, 511. Craig Rhiwarth towers precipitously above the N side of the village, and a lofty though les& abrupt hill-range shelters it on the S. The rocks are of the Llandilo flag formation, include black slates and calcareous flagstones, have strata, from 400 to 500 feet thick, and are richly charged with fossils. A lead mine belonging to the Powys family was worked for many years at an annual profit of about £20,000, suffered an irruption of water which stopped its operations, was resumed after a time by a company, but is now closed. There are two slate quarries and a lead mine. The living is a rectory, with St Melangell's church, in the diocese of St Asaph; gross value, a£245 with residence. Patron, the Bishop of St Asaph. The parish church is dedicated to St Cynog. There are Calvinistic Methodist, Wesleyan, and Congregational chapels. The parish has a council of nine members.
The following is a list of the administrative units in which this place was either wholly or partly included.
|Registration district||Llanfyllin||1837 - 1974|
Any dates in this table should be used as a guide only.
Land and Property
The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Montgomeryshire is available to browse.
Newspapers and Periodicals
The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following newspapers online: