UK Genealogy Archives logo
DISCLOSURE: This page may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we may receive a commission.

High Peak, Derbyshire

Historical Description

High Peak, a parliamentary division of Derbyshire, was formed under the Redistribution of Seats Act, 1885, and returns one member to the House of Commons. Population, 60, 740. The division includes the following:-Buxton- Buxton, Fairfield, Hartington (Upper Quarter), Wormhill; Chapel-en-le-Frith-Aston, Bamford, Brough and Shatton, Bradwell, Castleton, Chapel-en-le-Frith, Chinley, Bagsworth and Brownside, Derwent, Edale, Femilee, Hayfield, Hope, Hope Woodlands, Newmills, Peak Forest, Thomhill; Glossop- Charlesworth, Chunal, Dinting, Glossop, Hadfield, Ludworth or Chisworth, Mellor, Padfield, Simondley, Whitfield; Glossop, municipal borough.

Transcribed from The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1894-5

Church Records, in conjunction with the Derbyshire Record Office, have the Church of England Baptisms (1538-1916), Marriages and Banns (1538-1932), and Burials (1538-1991) online.

Land and Property

A full transcript of the Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Derbyshire is online.


Online maps of High Peak are available from a number of sites:

Newspapers and Periodicals

The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following Derbyshire papers online: