UK Genealogy Archives logo

Harborough, Leicestershire

Historical Description

Harborough, a parliamentary division of Southern Leicestershire, was formed under the Redistribution of Seats Act of 1885, and returns one member to the House of Commons. Population, 59, 369. The division includes the following:- Lutterworth-Arnesby, Ashby Magna, Ashby Parva, Bittesby, Bitteswell, Broughton Astley, Bruntingthorpe, Catthorpe, Claybrooke Magna, Claybrooke Parva, Cottesbach, Dunton Basset, Frolesworth, Gilmorton, Rilworth (North), Rilworth (South), Rimcote and Walton, Rnaptoft, Leire, Lutterworth, Misterton, Peatling Magna, Peatling Parva, Shawell, Shears-by, Swinford, Ullesthorpe, Westrill and Starmore, Wigston Parva, Willoughby Waterless; Market Harborough-Bos-worth (Husbands), Bowden Magna, Burton Overy, Carlton Curlieu, Fleckney, Foxton, Gumley, Harborough, Ribworth Beauchamp, Ribworth Harcourt, Langton (East), Langton (West), Langton (Thorpe), Langton (Tur), Laughton, Lubenham, Medbourne, Mowsley, Saddington, Shangton, Slawston, Smeeton, Stonton Wyville, Theddingworth, Wel-ham; Leicester-Aylestone, Blaby, Bradgate, Braunstone, Braunstone Frith, Cosby, Countesthorpe, Croft, Enderby, Foston, Freaks Ground, Glen Magna, Glen Parva, Glenfield, Glenfield Frith, Huncote, Rirby Frith, Rirby Muxloe, Rilby, Rnighton, Leicester Forest (East), Leicester Forest (West), Lubbesthorpe, Narborough, Newton Hiuxourt, Newfound Pool, New Parks, Oadby, Sarman's Lodge, Whetstone, Wig-ston Magna, Wistow; East Norton (part of)-Blaston, Bringhnrst, Cranoe, Drayton, Glooston, Great Easton, Hal-laton, Horninghold, Nevill Holt, Stockerston, Stoke Dry-with-Holy Oaks; Leicester, municipal borough.

Transcribed from The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1894-5

Newspapers and Periodicals

The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following Leicestershire newspapers online: