UK Genealogy Archives logo

Eskdale Parliamentary Division, Cumberland

Historical Description

Eskdale Parliamentary Division, or Northern Cumberland, was formed under the Redistribution of Seats Act, 1885, and returns one member to the House of Commons. Popula- tion, 46,364. The division includes the following:-Long-town-Arthuret, Bellbank, Bewcastle, Hethersgill, Kirk-andrews (Middle), Kirkandrews(Moat), Kirkandrews (Nether), Kirklinton (Middle), Nichol Forest, Scaleby, Solport, Staple-ton, Trough, Westlinton; Brampton-Askerton, Brampton, Burthoime, Carlatton, Castle Carrock, Cnmrew, Cumwhitton, Denton (Nether), Denton (Upper), Farlam, Geltsdale, Hay-ton, Irthington, Kingwater, Midgeholrne, Walton, Waterhead; Cumberland Ward-Beaumont, Bowness, Burgh-by-Sands, Caldewgate, Crosby-on-Eden, Cummersdale, Dalston, Grins-dale, Kingmoor, Kirkandrews-on-Eden, Kirkbampton, Orton, Rockliff, St Cuthbert (Without), Stanwix, Warwick, Weth-eral, Wreay; Wigton or Allerdale-below-Derwent (part of)- Aikton, Allonby and Westnewton, Aspatris and Brayton, Bromfield, Crookdake and Scales, Hayton and Mealo, Holrne Abbey, Hoime (East Waver), Hoime (Low), Hoime (Sfc Cuthbert), Kirkbride, Langrigg and Mealrigg, Oulton; Cai lisle, municipal borough.

Transcribed from The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1894-5

Land and Property

The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Cumberland is available to browse.