UK Genealogy Archives logo
DISCLOSURE: This page may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we may receive a commission.

Chestertone, Cambridgeshire

Historical Description

Chestertone, Parliamentary Division of Western Cambridgeshire was formed under the Redistribution of Seats Act, 1885, and returns one member to the House of Commons. Population, 46,108. The division includes the following: -Ely (part of) -Grunty Fen, Haddenham, Mepal, Stretham, Sutton, Wentworth, Wilburton, Witcham, Witchford; Cambridge -Barton, Boxworth, Chesterton, Childerley, Comberton, Conington, Coton, Cottenham, Dry Drayton, Fen Drayton, Girton, Grantchester, Hauxton, Harston, Histon, Impington, Landbeach, Lolworth, Longstanton (All Saints), Longstanton (St Michael), Madingley, Milton, Newton, Oak-ington, Over, Rampton, Shelford Great, Shelford Little, Stapleford, Swavesey, Trumpington, Waterbeach, Westwick, Willingham; Caxton -Bourn, Caldecot, Caxton, Croxton, Elsworth, Eitisley, Gamlingay, Gransden Little, Graveley, Hardwick, Kingston, Knapwell, Longstow, Papworth (Everard), Papworth (St Agnes), Toft; Arrington and Melbourn -Abington Pigotts, Arrington, Barrington, Bassingbourn, Croydon, Eversden Great, Eversden Little, Foulmire, Foxton, Harlton, Haslingfield, Hatley (East), Hatley (St George), Kneesworth, Litlington, Melbourn, Meldreth, Morden (Guilden), Morden (Steeple), Orwell, Royston, Shepreth, Shingay, Tadlow, Thriplow, Wendy, Whaddon, Wimpole; Cambridge, municipal borough.

Transcribed from The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1894-5

Land and Property

The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Cambridgeshire is available to browse.

Newspapers and Periodicals

The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following Cambridgeshire papers online:

Visitations Heraldic

The Visitations of Cambridgeshire 1575 and 1619 is available online.