UK Genealogy Archives logo

Nantmel, Radnorshire

Historical Description

Nantmel, a parish in Radnorshire, on the river Dulas, under Camllo Hill, 4½ miles ESE of Rhayader. It contains the townships of Gwastedin, Maescelyn, Coedglasson, and Vainor, and has a post office under Rhayader; money order and telegraph office, Bhayader. Acreage, 16,934; population of the civil parish, 1040; of the ecclesiastical, 976. Llwyn Gwyn is a lake about a mile in circumference, and was formerly a resort of pilgrims. There are two ancient camps. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of St David's; gross value, £384 with residence. Patron, the Bishop of St David's. The church is ancient. There are Baptist, Congregational, and Calvinistic Methodist chapels, and a workhouse.

Transcribed from The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1894-5


The following is a list of the administrative units in which this place was either wholly or partly included.

Registration districtRhayader1837 - 1933
Registration districtRadnorshire West1933 - 1974

Any dates in this table should be used as a guide only.

Land and Property

The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Radnorshire is available to browse.

Newspapers and Periodicals

The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following newspapers online: