UK Genealogy Archives logo

Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd, Denbighshire

Historical Description

Llanbedr-Dyffryn-Clwyd, a parish in Denbighshire, onr the river Clwyd, under Moel Fammau Mountain, 2 miles NE of Euthin. It includes the townships of Bodelgar, Llwynedd, Rhiwia, and Treganol. Post town, Ruthin (R.S.O.) Acreage, 3102; population, 369. Llanbedr Hall and Berth are chief residences. Moel Fammau Mountain has an altitude of 1823 feet. The living is a rectory in the diocese of St Asaph; tithe commuted at £415 with residence. Patron, the Bishop of St Asaph. The church was built in 1863. There is also a chapel of ease in the parish, and Wesleyan and Calvinistie Methodist chapels.

Transcribed from The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1894-5


The following is a list of the administrative units in which this place was either wholly or partly included.

Registration districtRuthin1837 - 1935

Any dates in this table should be used as a guide only.

Civil Registration

For general information about Civil Registration (births, marriages and deaths) see the Civil Registration page.

For births, marriages, and deaths in Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd from 1837 to 1935 you should search for the Ruthin Registration District.

Land and Property

The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Denbighshire is available to browse.

Newspapers and Periodicals

The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following newspapers online: