UK Genealogy Archives logo

Llandrillo yn Rhos, Denbighshire

Historical Description

Llandrillo-yn-Rhos, a parish in Denbighshire, on the coast, near Little Orme's Head, 3 miles NE by E of Conway. It contains Colwyn, Colwyn Bay, and Mochdre, each of which has a station on the L. & N.W.R. Colwyn Bay has a post; office (R.S.O.) Acreage, 5249 and 292 of foreshore; population of the civil parish, 4754; of the ecclesiastical, 3783. A pier was erected at Llandrillo-yn-Rhos in 1895. Some ruins, said to be the remnant of an ancient palace of Maelgwyn Gwynedd prior to his residing at Deganwy, are at Llys Euryn. Ednyfed Fychan lived at Llys Euryn in the 13th century. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of St Asaph; net value, £204 with residence. Patron, the Bishop of St Asaph. The church, dedicated to St Trillo, is prettily situated on an eminence which commands a charming view of the surrounding picturesque country; is a handsome Perpendicular edifice with double aisles, has a tower with double-stepped battlements, and contains an Early English font, with dog-tooth beading. In the 13th century Ednyfed Fychan, minister and general to Llewelyn the Great, built a chapel which formed the west half of the N aisle of the present church. This aisle was afterwards lengthened by the parishioners when their church was washed away by the sea. In the N wall there are to be seen the pointed arches which communicated with Ednyfed's seat. The S aisle was built in the 15th century by the Ladies Conway, descendants of Gruffydd Goch. In the church, at the NW end, is a tombstone, with inscription in Saxon letters. There are four very handsome stained glass windows. Capel Trillo, about half a mile distant, is a small barrel-vaulted building over a spring, and was probably an oratory. There is a church at Colwyn Bay, and Wesleyan, Congregational, and Calvinistic Methodist chapels. See COLWYN BAY and COLWYN, OLD.

Transcribed from The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1894-5

Administration

The following is a list of the administrative units in which this place was either wholly or partly included.

Registration districtConway1837 - 1935
Registration districtAled1935 - 1974

Any dates in this table should be used as a guide only.


Land and Property

The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Denbighshire is available to browse.


Newspapers and Periodicals

The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following newspapers online: