Llanwrtyd or Llanwrtyd Wells, a village and a parish in Brecknockshire. The village lies on the river Yrfon, 11 miles W of Builth, and has a station on the Central Wales branch of the L. & N.W.R., and a post, money order, and telegraph office (R.S.O.) The original village, where the church is situated, is about a mile up the valley, but houses have sprung up between the Wells and the station. The parish comprises the hamlets of Clawddmadog and Llech-weddor. Acreage, 10,785; population, 812. Dolycoed was a family seat, and is now the chief hotel for visitors to the wells. Dinas also was formerly a mansion, but is now a farmhouse. The surface is wildly mountainous, but includes romantic scenery and many charming walks. A narrow bridge spans the Yrfon at Pont-rhyd-y-Feir, near Dolycoed. The mineral wells are situated in the grounds of the Dolycoed Hotel, were discovered or brought into notice in 1732, are chalybeate and sulphureous, of similar quality to those of Harrogate, and are in repute for scorbutic and cutaneous diseases. There is good trout fishing. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of St David's; gross value, £153. Patron, the Bishop of St David's. The church, situated near the hamlet of Clawddmadog, is ancient, and was restored in 18C1. There is also a church at Llanwrtyd. There are Baptist, Congregational, and Calvinistic Methodist chapels.
The following is a list of the administrative units in which this place was either wholly or partly included.
|Registration district||Llandovery||1837 - 1897|
|Registration district||Builth||1897 - 1974|
Any dates in this table should be used as a guide only.
Land and Property
A full transcript of the Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Breconshire is online.
Newspapers and Periodicals
The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following newspapers online: