UK Genealogy Archives logo

Worthington, Leicestershire

Historical Description

Worthington, a parish, consisting of the four townships of Worthington, Newbold, Griffydam, and Gelsmore, in Leicestershire, 4 miles NE from Ashby-de-la-Zouch. It has a station on the Ashby and Melbourne branch of the M.R., and a post office under Ashby-de-la-Zouch; money order and telegraph office, Ashby-de-la-Zouch. Acreage, 1732; population, 928. There is a parish council consisting of six members. The manor belongs to Earl Ferrers. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Peterborough; net value, £107 with residence, in the gift of Lord Scarsdale. The church is a plain edifice of stone dating from about the end of the 12th century. There are two Wesleyan chapels.

Transcribed from The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1894-5


The following is a list of the administrative units in which this place was either wholly or partly included.

Ancient CountyLeicestershire 
Civil parishBreedon 
HundredWest Goscote 
Poor Law unionAshby-de-la-Zouch 

Any dates in this table should be used as a guide only.

Church Records

Findmypast, in association with the Record Office for Leicestershire, Leicester & Rutland, have the following parish records online for Worthington:


Directories & Gazetteers

We have transcribed the entry for Worthington from the following:

Land and Property

A full transcript of the Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Leicestershire is online.


Online maps of Worthington are available from a number of sites:

Newspapers and Periodicals

The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following Leicestershire newspapers online:

DistrictNorth West Leicestershire
RegionEast Midlands
Postal districtLE65
Post TownAshby-De-La-Zouch