Tulse Hill, Surrey
Tulse Hill, a chapelry in Lambeth and Streatham parishes, Surrey, with a station on the L.B. & S.C.R., 6 miles from London, and 1 mile W of Dulwich. It was constituted in 1856, and is within the county of London. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Rochester. The church of Holy Trinity is a building of stone in the Decorated style, with a tower and spire. Brockwell Park, situated between Norwood Boad and Tulse Hill, and a short distance north of Tulse Hill station, is a delightful tract of grass land 80 acres in extent. The natural features of the park are pleasingly diversified, presenting charming vistas of landscape, and there are two rookeries. The land was purchased as an open space in 1890 for £117,000, and is under the management of the London County Council.
Ancestry.co.uk, in association with Surrey History Centre, have images of the Parish Registers for Surrey online.
Land and Property
The Return of Owners of Land in 1873 for Surrey is available to browse.
Online maps of Tulse Hill are available from a number of sites:
- Bing (Current Ordnance Survey maps).
- Google Streetview.
- National Library of Scotland. (Old maps)
- old-maps.co.uk (Old Ordnance Survey maps to buy).
- Streetmap.co.uk (Current Ordnance Survey maps).
- A Vision of Britain through Time. (Old maps)
Newspapers and Periodicals
The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following Surrey papers online:
The Visitation of Surrey, 1662-1668 is available on the Heraldry page.