Broomfield, a parish in Somersetshire, among the Quantock Hills, 5 miles N of Taunton station on the G.W.R., and 6 WSW of Bridgewater, under which it has a post office; money order and telegraph office, Kingston. Acreage, 4080; population of the civil parish, 384; of the ecclesiastical, 394. Fyne Court and Broomfield Hall are the chief residences. Much of the surface is picturesque, and some points command extensive views. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Bath and Wells; gross value, £97 with residence. The church is good, and the churchyard has a stone cross. Red deer are occasionally found wild in this parish.
The following is a list of the administrative units in which this place was either wholly or partly included.
|Ecclesiastical parish||Broomfield St. Mary And All Saints|
|Poor Law union||Bridgwater|
Any dates in this table should be used as a guide only.
The Phillimore transcript of Marriages at Broomfield 1630-1812, Somerset is available to browse online.
Ancestry.co.uk, in association with Somerset Archives & Local Studies, have images of the Parish Registers for Somerset online.
For general information about Civil Registration (births, marriages and deaths) see the Civil Registration page.
Directories & Gazetteers
We have transcribed the entry for Broomfield from the following:
- Samuel Lewis' A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848 (Broomfield (St. Mary And All Saints))
Online maps of Broomfield are available from a number of sites:
- Bing (Current Ordnance Survey maps).
- Google Streetview.
- National Library of Scotland. (Old maps)
- old-maps.co.uk (Old Ordnance Survey maps to buy).
- Streetmap.co.uk (Current Ordnance Survey maps).
- A Vision of Britain through Time. (Old maps)
Newspapers and Periodicals
The British Newspaper Archive have fully searchable digitised copies of the following Somerset papers online:
- Bath Chronicle and Weekly Gazette
- Taunton Courier, and Western Advertiser
- Western Gazette
- Wells Journal
- Somerset County Gazette
The Visitation of Somersetshire, 1623 is available on the Heraldry page.