Hundreds in Essex

The county forms nineteen hundreds: the following is a list of the hundreds, with the places included in each as at 1914:-

Hundred of Barstable

Bassildon, Bowers Gifford, Bulphan, Chadwell St. Mary, Corringham, Doddinghurst, Downham, Dunton, East Horndon, East Tilbury, Fobbing, Great Burstead, Horndon-on-the-Hill, Hutton, Ingrave, Laindon, Langdon or Laindon Hills, Little Burstead, Little Thurrock, Mucking, Nevendon, North Benfleet, Orsea, Pitsea, Ramsden Bellhouse, Ramsden Crays, Shenfield, South Benfleet, Stanford-le-Hope, Thundersley (part of), Vange, West Horndon, West Tilbury and Wickford.

Hundred of Becontree

Barking, Dagenham, East Ham, Little Ilford, Low Leyton, Walthamstow, Wanstead, West Ham and Woodford.

Hundred of Chafford

Aveley, Brentwood, Childerditch, Cranham, Grays Thurrock, Great Warley, Little Warley, North Ockendon, Rainham, South Ockendon, South Weald, Stifford, Upminster, Wennington and West Thurrock.

Hundred of Chelmsford

Blackmore, Boreham, Broomfield, Buttsbury, Chelmsford, Chignall St. James, Chignall Smealey, Danbury, East Hanningfield, Fryerning, Great Baddow, Great Leighs (part of), Great Waltham, Ingatestone, Little Baddow, Little Leighs, Little Waltham, Margaretting, Mountnessing, Rettendon, Roxwell, Runwell, Sandon, South Hanningfield, Springfield, Stock, West Hanningfield, Widford, Woodham Ferrers and Writtle.

Hundred of Clavering

Berden, Clavering, Farnham, Henham (part of), Langley, Manuden, Stansted Mountfitchet (part of), Ogley.

Hundred of Dengie

Althorne, Asheldham, Bradwell, Burnham, Cold Norton, Creeksea, Dengie, Hazeleigh, Latchingdon, Mayland, Mundon, North Fambridge, Purleigh, St. Lawrence Newland, Southminster, Steeple, Stow Maries, Tillingham, Woodham Mortimer and Woodham Walter.

Hundred of Dunmow

Aythorp Roding, Barnston, Berners Roding, Broxted, Chickney, Good Easter, Great Canfield, Great Dunmow, Great Easton, High Easter, High Roding, Leaden Roding, Lindsell, Little Canfield, Little Dunmow, Little Easton, Margaret Roding, Mashbury, Pleshey, Shellow Bowells, Thaxted, Tilty, White Roding with the hamlet of Morrell Roding, Willingale Doe and Willingale Spain.

Hundred of Freshwell

Ashdon, Bardfield, Saling, Great Bardfield, Great Sampford, Helion Bumpstead, Hempstead, Little Bardfield, Little Sampford and Radwinter.

Hundred of Harlow

Great Ballingbury, Great Parndon, Harlow, Hatfield Broad Oak or Hatfield Regis, Latton, Little Hallingbury, Little Parndon, Matching, Netteswell, Roydon (part of) and Sheering.

Hundred of Hinckford

Alphamstone, Ashen, Ballingdon-cum-Brundon, Belchamp Otten, Belchamp St. Paul, Belchamp Walter, Birdbrook, Bocking, Borley, Braintree, Bulmer, Bures, Castle Hedingham, Felstead, Finchingfield, Foxearth, Gestingthorpe, Gosfield, Great Henny, Great Maplestead, Great Saling, Great Yeldham, Halstead Rural, Halstead Urban, Lamarsh, Liston, Little Henny, Little Maplestead, Little Yeldham, Middleton, Ovington, Panfield, Pebmarsh, Pentlow, Rayne, Ridgwell, Shalford, Sible Hedingham, Stambourne, Stebbing, Steeple Bumpstead, Stisted, Sturmere, Tilbury, Toppesfield, Twinstead, Wethersfield and Wickham St. Paul's.

Hundred of Lexden

Aldham (Witham division), Birch (Colchester division), Boxted, Chapel or Pontisbright (Witham division), Copford, Dedham (Colchester division), Earls Colne, East Donyland, Easthorpe, Eagaine Colne (Witham division), Feering (Witham division), Fordham (Colchester division), Great Coggeshall (Witham division), Great Horkesley, Great Tey (Witham division), Inworth (Witham division), Langham (Colchester division), Little Horkesley (Colchester division), Little Tey (Witham division), Marks Tey (Witham division), Markshall (Witham division), Messing, Mount Bures (Colchester division), Pattiswick (Witham division), Stanway (Colchester division), Wakes Colne (Witham division), West Bergholt (Colchester division), White Colne (Witham division), Wormingford and Wivenhoe (Colchester division).

Hundred of Ongar

Abbots Roding, Beauchamp Roding, Bobbingworth, Chigwell, Chipping Ongar, Fyfield or Fifehead, Greenstead, High Laver, High Ongar, Kelvedon Hatch, Lambourne, Little Laver, Loughton, Magdalen Laver, Moreton, Navestock, North Weald Bassett, Norton Mandeville, Shelley, Stamford Rivers, Stapleford Abbots, Stapleford Tawney, Stondon Massey, Theydon Bois, Theydon Garnon and Theydon Mount.

Hundred of Rochford

Ashingdon, Barling, Canewdon, Eastwood, Foulness, Great Stambridge, Great Wakering, Hadleigh, Hawkwell, Hockley, Leigh, Little Stambridge, Little Wakering, North Shoebury, Paglesham, Prittlewell, Rawreth, Rayleigh, Rochford, Shopland, Southchurch, South Fambridge, South Shoebury, Sutton and Thundersley (part of).

Hundred of Tendring

Alresford, Ardleigh, Beaumont-cum-Moze, Bradfield, Brightlingsea, Elmstead, Frating, Frinton, Great Bentley, Great Bromley, Great Clacton, Great Holland, Great Oakley, Kirby-le-Soken, Lawford, Little Bentley, Little Bromley, Little Clacton, Little Holland, Little Oakley, Manningtree, Mistley, Ramsey, St. Osyth-Chich, Tendring, Thorpe-le-Soken, Thorrington, Walton-le-Soken or Walton-on-the-Naze, Weeley, Wix and Wrabness.

Hundred of Thurstable

Goldhanger, Great Totham, Heybridge, Langford, Little Totham, Tollesbury, Tolleshunt D'Arcy, Tolleshunt Knights, Tolleshunt Major or Beckingham and Wickham Bishops.

Hundred of Uttlesford

Arkesden, Birchanger, Chrishall, Debden, Elmdon, Elsenham, Great Chesterford, Great Chishall, Henham (part of), Heydon, Little Chesterford, Little Chishall, Littlebury, Newport, Quendon, Rickling, Stansted Montfitchett (part of), Strethall, Takeley, Wendens Ambo, Wendon Lofts, Wicken Bonant, Widdington and Wimbish.

Hundred of Waltham

Chingford, Epping, Nazeing, Roydon (part of), and Waltham Abbey or Waltham Holy Cross.

Hundred of Winstree

Abberton, East Mersea, Fingringhoe, Great Wigborough, Langenhoe, Layer Breton, Layer-de-la-Hay, Layer Marney, Little Wigborough, Peldon, Salcott, Virley and West Mersea.

Hundred of Witham

Black Notley, Bradwell-next-Coggeshall, Cressing, Fairsted, Faulkbourne, Great Braxted, Great Leighs (part of), Hatfield Peverel, Kelvedon, Little Braxted, Little Coggeshall, Rivenhall, Terling, Ulting, White Notley and Witham.