|Entry from White's Devonshire 1878:
Dunkeswell is a parish and small village in a picturesque valley, near the source of a rivulet, 6 miles N.N.W. of Honiton, and is in Honiton union, county court district, and petty sessional division, Hemyock polling district of North Devon, Hemyock hundred, Exeter archdeaconry, and Dunkeswell rural deanery. It had 428 inhabitants (224 males, 204 females) in 1871, living in 90 houses, on 5160 acres of land. The parish is boldly diversified with hill and dale, and includes many hundreds of acres of moor and waste, 100 of which are set apart for the inhabitants to cut turf from. Captain J.K. Simcoe, R.N., is lord of the manor, and owner of a great part of the soil. He has a pleasant seat at the south end of the parish called Wolford Lodge, 4 miles N.N.W. of Honiton.
The Church of St. Nicholas, Dunkeswell.
The Gatehouse of Dunkeswell Abbey (ruins)
Holy Trinity Church.
Holy Trinity Church was built in 1842 by Mrs Simcoe, a member of a local family, in the Early English Style, and, with the burial ground, occupies the site of the ancient Abbey. It is situated, roughly, over the former Abbey Cloisters and Nave.